Paved Paradise.

 Joni Mitchell said it best, “Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got till its gone, paved paradise and put up a parking lot.” While we were in Hawaii I set my hometown on a pedestal in my minds eye to now be utterly disappointed. 

Progress for progressions sake is wasteful of simple beauty. My home town of Fairhope, Al was a simple beauty full of eccentric artisans and free thinkers and is now full of strangers buying up her resources. What once was small and treasured is now at the mercy of the highest bidder. I’m not trying to bash the place that helped mold me but I can’t believe how fast it’s fallen into the tourist trap. From over developed subdivisions, full of empty homes, to un needed and over priced shopping centers. I just can’t imagine how those who have stayed and watched this transformation feel about the developments. The small town is dieing in America. 

After seeing my own towns demise I know that I want to travel and see the last small town dinosaurs before their eminent extinction. As I make lists of places to see, while living full time in the bus, I’ll most definitely start seeking out small towns. Towns to drive through and enjoy for what it is, not to make permanent camp and try to change it to fit mainstream needs. 

Though Fairhope is more parking lot than it is paradise she will always hold a place as she molded me in my youth. Her bays held me, her rivers carried me and her spirit will live in my soul. 

A true conservationist is a man who knows that the world is not given by his fathers, but borrowed from his children.


John James Audubon

Leave a Reply

